BBG Forms Commission on Innovation

The Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG) is tapping the expertise of visionary leaders to respond to the rapidly evolving digital landscape. A newly-formed BBG Commission on Innovation launched on September 22 in New York City. The Commission brings together leaders who have proven success in digital media to help shape world-class platforms to reach U.S. international broadcasting’s unique overseas environments.

“The Commission will expand the innovation work at the BBG and bring great minds from outside fields to focus on international media,” said Susan McCue, co-chair of the BBG’s Communications and Outreach Committee. “Yesterday’s introductory meeting was filled with game-changing ideas and approaches, and this is just the start of a dialogue about how to better serve, connect and engage with our audiences abroad.”

The Commission on Innovation draws leaders from the commercial, academic, nonprofit and philanthropic sectors. Members of the commission include author Clay Shirky; Evan Williams, Co-founder of Twitter; Randi Zuckerberg, former Marketing Director of Facebook; June Cohen, Executive Producer of TED Media; Paola Antonelli, Design and Architecture Senior Curator at the Museum of Modern Art; Akhtar Badshah, Senior Director of Global Community Affairs at Microsoft; Michael Maness, Vice President of Journalism & Media Innovation at the Knight Foundation and Rob Bluey of the Heritage Foundation.

The Commission will continue to meet throughout the year and focus on a variety of topics affecting international media distribution, content development and audience access.

Members of the BBG’s Commission on Innovation include:

Akhtar Badshah, Senior Vice President, Microsoft Global Community Affairs

Alec Ross, Special Advisor for Innovation, US State Department

Andrew McLaughlin, Executive Director, Civic Commons

Andrew Rasiej, Founder, Personal Democracy Forum

Ben Scott, Policy Advisor on Innovation, US State Department

Chris Hughes, co-founder, Facebook

Clay Shirky, Professor & Author, New York University, ITP

Evan Williams, Co-Founder, Twitter

Hari Sreenivasan, Correspondent & Managing Digital Editor, PBS NewsHour

James Montgomery, Controller of Digital & Technology, BBC Global News

Jan Chipchase, Executive for Global Insights, Frog Design

Jeff Davidoff, Chief Marketing Officer, ONE

June Cohen, Executive Producer for Media, TED

Michael Maness, Vice President Journalism & Media Innovation, Knight Foundation

Mark McKinnon, Public Strategies Inc.

Mark Surman, Executive Director, Mozilla Foundation

Paola Antonelli, Senior Curator, Department of Architecture & Design, MoMA

Premal Shah, President, Kiva

Randi Zuckerberg, CEO, R-Z Media

Rebecca MacKinnon, Bernard L. Schwartz Senior Fellow, New America Foundation

Rob Bluey, Director, Center for Media & Public Policy, The Heritage Foundation

Rob Glaser, Founder & Chairman, RealNetworks Inc.

Vivek Kundra, Fellow, Berkman Center for Internet and Society & Shorenstein Center on Press, Politics & Public Policy, Harvard University