Winners of the 2008 David Burke Distinguished Journalism Award Announced

The Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG) today announced the winners of the 2008 David Burke Distinguished Journalism Award. Named for former BBG Chairman David Burke, the award recognizes courage, integrity, and originality in reporting by journalists within the BBG broadcast organizations.

This year’s winners are: Adrian Criscaut and John Miller of Voice of America (VOA), the Baghdad bureau of Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL), the Burmese Service of Radio Free Asia (RFA), and Mohamed Mokhtari of Alhurra.

Criscaut, a videojournalist (VJ) in VOA’s Latin America division, provided exceptional news coverage from Venezuela this past year. He gained important exclusive interviews while reporting on such subjects as Venezuela’s constitutional referendum and the accompanying demonstrations, and the release of FARC kidnapping victims. Mr. Criscaut worked in dangerous conditions with limited resources, demonstrating courage and commitment to democracy in a volatile region.

Freelance reporter John Miller, who worked with VOA’s Central News Division and a Zimbabwean colleague, received the award for their series on life in Zimbabwe. David Borgida, a Supervising Editor who nominated the journalists, said, “The global audience had seen little of what has been going on [in Zimbabwe] because the government controls what is seen and heard. This series provided that rare glimpse into real life in Zimbabwe.”

The Baghdad bureau of RFE/RL earned the award for exceptional journalism while working in the most dangerous country in the world for journalists. Despite having two correspondents killed and another kidnapped, bureau members delivered objective, balanced coverage of Iraq