Signing of the U.S.-Afghanistan Radio Agreement

Kenneth Y. Tomlinson, Chairman, the Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG) and His Excellency Dr. Makhdoom Raheen, Minister of Information and Culture, Transitional Islamic State of Afghanistan

What: The Signing of the U.S.-Afghanistan Radio Agreement

Cohen Building Auditorium, 330 Independence Ave., S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20237

When: Thursday, October 3, 2002 — 11 a.m.

The agreement calls for the BBG, which supervises all U.S. government-supported international broadcasting, to install two high-power, medium-wave (AM) transmitters that will have nationwide reach across Afghanistan. In addition, the BBG will provide transmitters and equipment for up to five FM operations in Afghanistan.

The BBG, a federal agency directed by a nine-member, presidentially appointed board, supervises the Voice of America (VOA); Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL); Radio Free Asia (RFA); Radio/TV Marti, and WORLDNET Television. Other BBG members include Kenneth Tomlinson; Marc Nathanson; Edward E. Kaufman; Cheryl Halpern; Robert M. Ledbetter, Jr., and Secretary of State Colin Powell, who serves as an ex officio member.

For more information, contact: Joan Mower (202.260.0167 or 202.401.3736),, or