Norman J. Pattiz Appointed to Broadcasting Board of Governors for Second Term

Norman J. Pattiz, founder and chairman of Westwood One, has been appointed to a second term on the Broadcasting Board of Governors (BBG), which supervises all U.S. government-supported, non-military international broadcasting.

Pattiz was nominated by President George W. Bush and confirmed by the U.S. Senate for a three-year term on August 1, 2002. He was first named to the BBG ( in November 2000 by President Bill Clinton.

Pattiz is the driving force behind the Middle East Radio Network, also known as Radio Sawa ( Launched on March 22, 2002 as a 24-hour, seven-day-a-week, Arabic language service aimed at listeners under 30, Radio Sawa is a pilot project of the Voice of America. The service is available to millions of listeners on medium-wave (AM), FM and shortwave frequencies as well as on the Internet and the digital radio satellite channels of Nilesat, Arabsat, and Eutelsat Hotbird.

Pattiz is founder and Chairman of Westwood One, America’s largest radio network. Westwood One owns, manages, or distributes the NBC Radio Network, CBS Radio Network, the Mutual Broadcasting System, CNN Radio, Fox Radio Network, Metro Networks, Metro Traffic and Shadow Traffic.

Pattiz is a member of the University of California’s Board of Regents and a Commissioner on California’s 21st Century Infrastructure Commission. He is also a member of the executive board and the past president of the Broadcast Education Association, and a trustee of the Museum of Television & Radio and the Hollywood Radio & Television Society. He is the primary benefactor of the Hamilton High Academy of Music and the Norman J. Pattiz Concert Hall. Pattiz has received an Honorary Doctorate in Fine Arts from Southern Illinois University. He is a native of Los Angeles and lives in Beverly Hills, California with his wife Mary Turner Pattiz.

The BBG, a federal agency directed by a nine-member, presidentially appointed board, supervises the Voice of America (VOA); Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty (RFE/RL); Radio Free Asia (RFA); Radio/TV Marti, and WORLDNET Television. Other BBG members include Kenneth Tomlinson; Marc Nathanson; Edward E. Kaufman; Cheryl Halpern; Robert M. Ledbetter, Jr., and Secretary of State Colin Powell, who serves as an ex officio member.

For more information, contact: Joan Mower (202.260.0167 or 202.401.3736),, or