Burke Awards

In Recognition of Distinguished Journalism

The David Burke Distinguished Journalism Award recognizes the courage, integrity, and professionalism of individuals in reporting the news within the BBG broadcast entities. Named in honor of David W. Burke, the founding chairman and leader of the BBG for its first three years, the award is presented annually to U.S. international broadcasters who demonstrate exceptional performances, including bravery and extreme hardship. The amount of the award is $2,500.

Mr. Burke had an illustrious career as a news and broadcast executive. He is the former President of CBS News and served as both Vice President and Executive Vice President of ABC News.

Winners by year


  • Detained in Azerbaijan


    Investigative journalist and RFE/RL contributor Khadija Ismayilova was arrested and detained on Dec 5, 2014.

    5 months 19 days

    in prison

    Learn More

  • Headlines

  • The Board

    • Jeffrey Shell
    • Dr. Leon Aron
    • Matt Armstrong
    • Michael Kempner
    • John Forbes Kerry
    • Karen Kornbluh
    • Kenneth Weinstein
    • vacant